Ibiza Hotels to Residential properties
October 5, 2011
Ibiza Weddings in World Heritage sites
October 19, 2011

The Government of Spain last week published the official list of Bank Holidays for next year. The working calendar (calendario laboral) of nationwide public holidays is supplemented by two additional non-working public holidays declared by each of Spain’s autonomous regions.

There will be a total of nine national bank holidays in 2012, one more than this year, with 6th January, which until now has been optional, now being celebrated across the country. However, it seems Government has been listening to the business sector, with as many holidays as possible moved to Friday and Monday, ensuring people are unable to take extra long weekends, using up odd days in the middle. For instance if a bank holiday falls on a Tuesday it is more than likely that many employees will take the Monday off work as well, with this normal policy for most public sector workers including teachers, etc.

The fixed national bank holidays fall on:
6th April,
1st May,
15th August,
12th October,
1st November,
6th December,
8th December,
25th December.

Next Year New Years Day (1st January) will not be a fiesta as it falls on a Sunday but 2nd January will be a bank holiday in many regions, although not in the Balearics which has decided to declare both Easter Thursday (5th April) and Easter Monday (9th April) as additional fiestas, ensuring an extra long Easter break for most.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *